

Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Dr. Andres Gantous (Head)

Members: Peter Adamson, Ashlin Alexander, Jamil Asaria, Matthew Brace, Michael Brandt, Nitin Chauhan, Douglas Chepeha, Kris Conrad, David Ellis, Danny Enepekides, Ralph Gilbert, David Goldstein, Kevin Higgins, Robert Mounsey, Xerxes Punthakee, Richard Rival, Oakley Smith, Philip Solomon.

I am pleased to present the annual report on the activities of the Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery for the 2020–2021 academic year. It has been a challenging year for all due to the ongoing pandemic, limited OR time and hospital resources yet, we have been able to continue providing care to our patients and training to our students, residents and fellows.

Our division is comprised of the following individuals: Dr. Peter A. Adamson, Dr. Douglas Chepeha, Dr. David A. F. Ellis (Dr. David Ellis has also retired from clinical practice in March 2021) and Dr. Ralph Gilbert are full professors. Dr. Kryzstof Conrad, Dr. Danny Enepekides, Dr. Andres Gantous, Dr. David Goldstein and Dr. Kevin Higgins are associate professors. Dr. Michael Brandt, Dr. Robert Mounsey, Dr. Oakley Smith and Dr. Philip Solomon are assistant professors. Dr. Ashlin Alexander, Dr. Jamil Asaria, Dr. Matthew Brace and Dr. Richard Rival are lecturers.

I am very grateful to all the members of the division for their unflagging dedication to our teaching commitments, support and contributions to the division this past year. Our own office personnel have worked tremendously hard during these very challenging times. The continuing help, support and work of the departmental administrative staff is

invaluable to our success. The leadership and support of Dr. Witterick, our chairman and Dr. Campisi, our program director is invaluable.

POSTGRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION TEACHING Workshops

The Soft Tissue Dissection course was held on November 2020. The course was co-directed by Drs. Brandt and Alexander. This was, as always, very popular the residents.

The Rhinoplasty Dissection course took place in April 2021 and, despite COVID-19 restrictions, was a success.

Mock orals

The preparatory examinations for the PGY5 fellows are given by members of the division, this organized by Gantous and given via zoom this year. Numerous faculty participated.

Fellowships

Currently the division recognizes four fellowship programs in FPRS. Dr. Asaria and Dr. Smith both had an AAFPRS fellow. Drs. Solomon and Rival, and Dr. Gantous had one University of Toronto accredited clinical fellow.

PGY4-5 rotations

Despite the challenge of the lock-down and slow ramp up in surgery, we were able to host several onemonth mandatory rotations in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery. Several faculty members also hosted elective rotations arranged by our University of Toronto residents as well as from other Canadian OHNS programs.

Out of Specialty PGME teaching

Dr. Gantous took over the role from Dr. Adamson and continues to present an overview of facial plastic surgery to the Faculty of Dentistry students on alternate years. Dr. Brandt has also become part of that lecture series. Dr. Asaria has also been engaged in teaching dermatology residents. Dr. Alexander has lectured to the plastic surgery residents.

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Courses

Numerous members of the division are frequent presenters at meetings such as the Canadian Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Annual Clinical Day, Canadian Society of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery Annual Meeting, American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Annual Meeting, American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Annual Meeting, as well as other international and national meetings. This past year, the lockdown did not stop our division members from this task, it just switched smoothly to zoom.

Association Activities

Dr. David Ellis continued to contribute his services to the CPSO as a peer reviewer until his retirement. Dr. Adamson continues as a Senior Advisor to the American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (ABFPRS) as well as a board examiner. Drs. Alexander and Asaria contribute oral protocols and written items for the ABFPRS examination. Dr. Asaria represented Canada as a Director on the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS) until September 2020. Dr. Adamson continues as Past President of the AAFPRS. Dr. Gantous is the Canadian Region Credential Committee representative, AAFPRS. Dr. Adamson is a member of the Rhinoplasty committee and the Ethics committee, AAFPRS, Dr. Adamson still serves as President of the International Board for Certification in Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (IBCFPRS) and is a board examiner. He is also a board examiner for the European Board for

Certification in Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (EBCFPRS). Dr. Gantous served as Treasurer, International Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Societies, until February 2021. He was elected to the position of Secretary in February 2021. Dr. Brandt is Section of Otolaryngology Delegate to the OMA, Ontario representative to the CSO-HNS and the CAFPRS. Dr. Rival has continued to serve as the President of the CAFPRS.

Many members of the division are peer reviewers for a number of national and international journals in facial plastic surgery, and Dr. Adamson sat on the International Advisory Board of the Journal of the American Medical Association for Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (JAMA FPRS). Dr. Asaria is now on the International Editorial Board of Facial Plastic Surgery & Aesthetic Medicine (FPSAM). Dr. Gantous is a reviewer for Facial Plastic Surgery.

PUBLICATIONS

Several members of the division have remained active writing and publishing their work during this period. Peer reviewed and requested articles as well as book chapters have been undertaken by many of our division members.

In summary, the Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery is committed to continue supporting and advancing the values, mission and goals of our department. Our members remain engaged and eager to advance, be leaders in and teach our subspecialty nationally and internationally.